Bakers Journal

Japan wins 2023 Pastry World Cup

January 23, 2023
By Bakers Journal

Japan's frozen dessert. Photo: Sirha Lyon/Bocuse d'Or

Lyon, France – Team Japan has won its third Pastry World Cup at Sirha Lyon 2023, after finishing in second place for the last five years.

On Jan. 21, the final day of the Pastry World Cup at Sirha Lyon, Team Japan members Moe Takahashi, Naritoshi Suzuka, Yusaku Shibata accepted the prestigious award, which recognizes a high standard of technique and creativity in pastry.

Team Japan, First Place. Photo: Sirha Lyon / Julien Bouvier Studio

Team Canada, comprising Jacob Pelletier, Patrick Bouilly and Ross Baisas, and coach Chef Alvin Leung, placed 10th and was recognized with the eco-responsible prize for its use of sustainable products.

France and Italy earned second and third place, respectively.


Team Canada, comprising Jacob Pelletier, Patrick Bouilly, Ross Baisas, earned 10th place.

Team Canada. 10th place, Eco-responsible Award. Photo: Sirha Lyon/Julien Bouvier Studio

Here are the official standings:

1. JAPAN – Moe Takahashi (chocolate), Naritoshi Suzuka (sugar), Yusaku Shibata (ice)
2. FRANCE – Georges Kousanas (chocolate), Jérémy Massing (sugar), Jana Lai (ice)
3. ITALY – Jacopo Zorzi (chocolate), Alessandro Petito (sugar), Martina Brachetti (ice)
4. UNITED KINGDOM – Martin Chiffers (chocolate), Nicolas Houchet (sugar), Michael Ho lam Kwan (ice)
5. SOUTH KOREA – Kwang Man Jung (chocolate), Jeong Been Kim (sugar), Ho Yong Lim (ice)
6. MALAYSIA – Charles Lim (chocolate) Pui Teng Mun (sugar), Jun Wei Goh (ice)
7. USA – François Behuet (chocolate), Jordan Snider (sugar), Julie Eslinger (ice)
8. CHINESE TAIPEI – Yu-Wei Xu (chocolate), Hsun-Han Chan (sugar), Yuan-Pin Chang (ice)
9. ARGENTINA – Matías Dragún (chocolate), Lucas Carballo (sugar), Rub Darré (ice)
10. CANADA – Jacob Pelletier (chocolate), Patrick Bouilly (sugar), Ross Baisas (ice)
11. CHILE – Alejandro Espinoza (chocolate), Javiera Villegas (sugar), Niko Ibacache (ice)
12. MOROCCO – Abdelkader Ejjatioui (chocolate), Ali Gousaid (sugar), Omar Eddib (ice)
13. COLOMBIA – Carlos De Ávila (chocolate), Deiby Sanchez (sugar), Laura Mojica (ice)
14. PHILIPPINES – Anthony Jay Segubiense (chocolate), Vergel Iral (sugar), Angelica Hong (ice)
15. MAURITIUS – Stéphane Labastide (chocolate), Pravesh Gokhoola (sugar), Shivam Marooday (ice)
16. TUNISIA – Moez Krid (chocolate), Bechir Hamed (sugar), Duminda Sapu Arachchige (ice)
17. EGYPT – Ahmed Aboubakr (chocolate), Marzouk Marzouk (sugar), Mortada Abdellatif (ice)

Japan’s sculptures. Photo: Sirha Lyon/Julien Bouvier Studio

Eco-responsible prize: CANADA – Jacob Pelletier (chocolate), Patrick Bouilly (sugar), Ross Baisas (ice)

For 10 hours, the 17 teams, each composed of a chocolate maker, a sugar expert and a master ice cream maker, created 42 tasting desserts and three artistic pieces on the theme of climate change.

Pierre Hermé, president of the contest, Cédric Grolet, honorary president of this edition, as well as the entire Jury, were seduced by the creations of the Japanese team, and their work wind-based to respect the “Climate Change” theme of the Pastry World Cup.

Canada’s frozen dessert. Photo: Sirha Lyon/Julien Bouvier Studio

“The level of the competition rises from one edition to the next, as evidenced by the very close results,” Hermé said. “It is with great emotion that we award Japan, a country accustomed to the podium, which is back on the top 16 years after its last victory.”

“All the candidates were very passionate, which is satisfying for me as a pastry chef,” Grolet added. “I would like to thank all the people who worked here, for having helped me rediscover this wonderful profession, which is on an every-day evolution, visually and technically.”

After finishing second on the podium for the last five editions, the team composed of Moe Takashi, Naritoshi Suzuka and Yusaku Shibata reached the top. With this victory, Japan wins its first gold medal since 2007 and its third World Cup.

After having reached the third place during the 2021 edition, the French team, composed of Georges Kousanas, Jérémy Massing and Jana Lai, is once again on the podium during this 18th edition.

Italy, after having won three gold medals, once again gets a place on the podium. This third-place finish is all the more symbolic as the ice cream candidate, Martina Brachetti, is the first Italian woman to be selected for the World Pastry Cup.

Print this page


Stories continue below



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *